Last night my wife and I were talking about drivers we’d seen using cellphones while driving (including police officers and California Highway Patrol) so I decided I’d take a look at the FAQs of the new law. If you’re not familiar with the new laws the jist is drivers are supposed to use headsets or not talk on a cell phone. What I found is laughable. It’s cheaper to get a ticket than pay $99 for a bluetooth headset.
Here’s what I found:
Q: What are the fines if I’m convicted?
A: The base fine for the FIRST offense is $20 and $50 for subsequent convictions.
However, with the addition of penalty assessments, the total amount can be more than
triple the base fine.
Q: Will I receive a point on my drivers license if I’m convicted for a violation of the
wireless telephone law?
A: NO. The violation is a reportable offense: however, DMV will not assign a violation
Q: Will the conviction appear on my driving record?
A: Yes, but the violation point will not be added.
I honestly don’t believe the fines are stringent enough to deter anyone once they find out what the penalties are.
If you’d like to check out the FAQs yourself you can find a PDF prepared by the California Department of Transportation here: http://www.chp.ca.gov/pdf/media/cell_phone_faq.pdf